Basketball You Blow The Call


A1 fouls B2. It is a common foul and Team B is not yet in the bonus thus the ball is to be inbounded. The official mistakenly gives the ball to Team A for the throw-in because he was unsure which team the foul was called on. Team A in-bounds the ball. As Team A dribbles down the floor, the official who called the foul realizes the mistake.

Ruling: This is not a correctabel error. Once the in-bounds is complete, no correction may be made. Case Book 7.6.6


Team A controls the opening tip when A4 secures the ball in their back court. A4 is however confused and drives toward the opponent's basket and attempts a layup. A4 misses the basket but rebounds the ball and then puts the ball in the basket. Who is credited with the basket and who gets the ball for the inbounds? Is it a spot inbounds or an end line inbounds?

Ruling: Since the layup attempt is not considered a try for goal because a try can only occur at one's own basket and since when player A4 picked up the ball to attempt the shot the dribble was ended, upon rebounding the ball player A4 has committed double dribble. Thus no ppoints are credited either team and team B is awarded the ball for a spot throw-in at the end line.

B2 is in a marked lane space. After free thrower A1 releases a free-throw attempt. B2 enters the free-throw semicircle before the ball strikes the ring, contacting and displacing A1, whose free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. How should this to be handled?

Ruling: Foul on B4 — illegal contact occurred. However, B4 also committed a delayed free-throw violation and A1 should be given a substitute free throw with the lane cleared while A1 finishes shooting the free thow or throws. Play resumes with team A inbounding the ball under their basket if they are not yet in the bonus or by the lanes being filled and A1 shooting 1 and 1 if they are in the bonus situation.

A player from team A passes the ball to a team mate who is unable to catch and control the ball. As the ball rolls loose on the floor both players A4 and B2 dive to get control of it. In the process player A4 pushes B2 out of the way in an attempt to get control of the ball. Player A4 is charged with a foul. If both teams are in the bonus situation, how does the officiating crew resume play?

Answer: Since team A was last to have team control, team A is still in team control at the time of the foul. Thus it is a team control foul and team B inbounds the ball closest to the spot where the foul was committed. A team has control of the ball when one of its players is holding or dribbling the ball. That team retains team control until there is a try for goal or the other team holds or dribbles the ball. Thus team A never lost team control. It should be noted that even though team A has team control they may not be granted a timeout until one of the team A players regains control of the ball by holding or dribbling it.

There are 10 seconds left on the game clock with the score tied at 38-38. The White team has the ball in their front court near the division line when it comes loose on the floor. There is a scramble for the ball, with several players on the floor trying to gain control. As player W13 from the white team, who is on the floor gains control, the coach standing close behind the trail referee calls for a timeout. The trail referee grants the timeout. However when he turns to address the score table he realizes that the coach who requested the timeout is the coach of the Blue team, who did not have control of the ball and thus should not have been granted the timeout.

Answer: Even though the timeout should not have been granted, since play was stopped and a timeout started, it stands as a timeout charged to the Blue team, just as if they had been in possession on the ball. Check Case Book 5.3.8

Player A1 is inbounding the ball from his own baseline. He inbounds the ball to a team mate, A3 who is above the 3 point line. As he tosses the ball B5 who is guarding the inbounds pass, deflects the ball so that is heads deeper into the court. A3 has to retreat back to catch the ball. A3 jumps from his front court, catches the ball and lands on the mid-court line.
What action should the officials take if any?

Answer: Team A has committed an Over & Back violation. The throw-in ends when it is touched by B5. When A3 catches the ball after leaving from the front court he has front court status. Thus when he steps in the mid court line he has committed a violation. (Case book 9.9.1 situation D)


Near the end of the game with the score tied at 63-63, player A1 is fouled as he attempts a shot from half court. The buzzer sounds before he can release the ball but the attempt is good. What action should the officials take?

Answer: The basket is not counted as it was not released in time. A1 is given 3 free throws as he was fouled in the act of shooting. A1 attempts the free throws with the lane cleared. If any of the tries are good the game is over and team A wins the game 64-63. If all three tries are no good the game go to over time. (Case Book 5.6.2 situation D)

Player #4 receives a pass from his/her team mate in the front court. He/she establishes their right foot as the pivot foot. Player #4 then steps toward the basket with the left foot and lifts the right foot off the floor. Which of the following statements are true?

A) Player #4 has committed a traveling violation

B) Player #4 has not committed a violation and may pass the ball.

C) Player #4 has not committed a violation and may shoot the ball.

D) Player #4 has not committed a violation and may dribble the ball.

Answer. It is not a violation to pick up the pivot foot and the player may either pass or shoot the ball prior to putting the right foot back on the floor. They must however start the dribble before lifting the pivot foot. Thus the correct answers are B & C.


Player #4 from team A is inbounding the ball after a made basket. Team B is applying back court pressure and on the attempted inbounds pass player #6 from team B kicks the ball with his/her foor.

Answer. It is a violation to intentionally kick the ball so player # 6 has committed a violation and team A get to inbound the ball again. This time at the point nearest where the violation occured. If that is again the baseline, team A has the entire endline to use to inbound the ball because their original inbounds pass was never legally completed. If is not on the endline it is a spot inbounds.


In the second half, player A3 is given the ball near his/her own bench to in bounds. A3 lobs the ball toward his/her own basket in an attempt to get the ball to their team mate to attempt a score. The lob is too long and lodges between the rim and the back board before anyone can touch it

Answer.. As the inbounds pass was never completed, the ball returns to the original throw-in spot for a throw-in by team B. If the original throw-in was an alternate possesion throw-in the arrow does not change. See Rule 9.2.8