 |
 |
Volleyball You Blow The Call |
|
22. The
libero enters the set goes to the serve line to serve for team B.
Although she has not yet served in this set she realizes that she
is not supposed to serve in the rotation and thus is reluctant to
serve. R1 blows the whistle and indicates a 5 second call on the
server. Thus giving the receiving team a point and serve. Can the
Libero later serve in the rotation that she was really supposed to
serve in?
Answer: A
5 second call is considered a service fault. Thus the Libero is considered
to have
served in that particular rotation and that is the only rotation the Libero
can serve in for the rest of that set. |
|
21. A player for team A hears a whistle
from another court and mistakenly thinks it is from her court and thus
catches the ball and stops play.
Answer: Since
the whistle was not for the action on her court her contact is illegal.
If it is the first or second team contact the call would be prolonged
contact and the appropriate signal given. If the team had already
had 3 contacts the instant she touched the ball it would be a 4th and
illegal contact. The appropriate signal would be to raise 4 fingers. |
|
20. Team A's coach request a sub which
is made. After the sub is made Team B's coach requests a Time Out. At
the
end of the time out Team A's coach wants to make an additional substitution.
Answer: The
additional sub is denied as a team may make only one request for substitution
during the same dead ball. |
|
19.
Player #2 serves the ball into the top of the net. It strikes the
top
of the net and at the same time R3 out of reflex reaches to the
ball and it touches her hands above the net. The ball quite obviously
was not going to cross the net so as the ball falls to the floor
on team S's side of the net, S3 catches the ball.
Answer: Since
R3 was reaching above the top of the net to touch the ball it is by definition
a block. Since it is illegal to block a serve, team S wins the rally. |
|
18.
The coach for team A requests a substitution and wants #4 to replace
#6 in the second position in the service order.
However previously in the set, #4 had replaced #12 in
the first position in the service order. As R2 authorizes the substitution
the scorer informs R2 that the substitution is illegal. R2 thus denies
the substitution and issues team A a delay sanction. The coach for
team then asks to substitute #4 for #12. How should R2 handle this
second
request, and did R2 handle the original illegal substitution correctly?
Answer: Substitue
#4 for $12 and R2 did handle the original illegal substitution correctly.
Rule 10.2 PENALTIES 1 & 2 |
|
17.
The Libero for team A is in position 5 (LB) for players #7. Team
A
wins the rally and is forced to rotate for a new server. The Libero
leaves
the court. However #7 fails to re-enter the court. Team A serves
and wins the rally with only 5 players on the court.
Answer: By
not completing the Libero exchange prior to the whistle and beckon
for serve, team A has commited an illegal allignment violation. Thus
a loss of rally is charged team A. (Rule 10.4.1.f) Team A does not
have the option to play with just 5 players (Case book 10.3.6 situation
C). |
|
16.
The coach of Team A requests a timeout. As R2 what are your next
actions?
Answer You
need to be aware whether or not Team A has already used their allotted
2 timeouts
or not.
If not, you blow your whistle, indicate timeout and which team took
it, and indicate to the R1 the number of timeout taken by each team
by holding
your
hands
at
about shoulder height. If you don’t know for sure, turn and get
the information from the scorer then give the information to R1. You
now have complete control of the match and R1 should not continue until
you give that control back to them. You should check with the scorer
as to how many subs have been taken by each team and depending on the
proficiency of the scorer, how good a job of recording the match is
being done. Hopefully you don’t have to make many or any corrections
to the score recording method. You then should turn and stand facing
R1 so that you are aware if the R1 needs to communicate any information
to you. Try not to spend the entire timeout period facing the table
and talking with the scorer. When the timeout clock reaches 15 seconds
left
you blow a warning whistle (toot-toot) letting the teams know they
need to start getting ready to break their huddle. Unless you are in
a situation
where there is more than one match occurring in the venue it is best
to allow
the auto horn to sound to end the timeout. Too often when you whistle
to end the timeout the server takes that whistle to be the beckon for
serve and serves the ball, causing a replay. If both teams are on the
court and ready to play prior to the expiration of the end of the allotted
time for the timeout, blow your warning whistle (toot-toot), have the
timer stop the clock and sound the horn or you blow the whistle whichever
is the
case.
Please
be sure
that
both teams are ready to play and there is not one player still at the
bench
or the teams are huddled together still discussing something or the
coach is still talking to a player at the side of the court. For this
reason
be sure to instruct the timer not to stop the clock without your authorization.
After the horn has sounded ending the timeout, re-signal to R1 the
number of timeouts taken by each team, this time above your shoulders;
R1 holds the same signal up to notify
the benches. Remember you have control of the match still. Check each
bench to see that no further requests are coming from the coaches.
Check to see that the line judges are in position. You are almost ready
to
give the match back to R1 to proceed with the match. Get to the receive
side of the net, put your whistle in your mouth and square up to the
sideline. Now you can give the match back to R1 by raising your outside
hand with your palm to the net. Great job; we are ready to proceed
with play.
|
|
15.
During pre-match warm-ups the referee notices that two Team S players
are wearing a libero jersey. The referees
tell the team that one of the players must remove the libero jersey
since there can only be one libero used during the set.
Answer The
referees’ decision
is incorrect. The rules do not cover the type of apparel a player may
wear during warm-ups.
|
|
14.
Team A records A1 as the team libero for set 1. When the second
referee
checks the lineup for the set 1, he notices that the libero is
wearing number 11. The team does not have a number 1 on the roster.
Answer. The lineup may not
be changed at this point, and the team will not be permitted to play with
a libero for set 1. Rule 7.2 |
|
13.
Player #4 from Team S is replaced by the Libero. Player #4 goes
to the
area behind the bench and waits
to
re-enter the game when the Libero rotates to the front row. R2 see
this and tell the coach that bench players must be seated on the bench.
The
coach replies that the rules allow a player to stand behind the bench
in order to warm up before entering the match.
Answer. Although the
rules does allow a player to go behind the bench to warm-up prior to
subbing into the match it is not intended to allow a player to stand
in that area for the entire time she is out of the match. Since the
Libero is not a substitution but rather a replacement, you should not
allow the Libero to be in that location nor the player she is exchanging
with. See rule 9.1 and case book 12.2.7.a &b. One should
also note that often especially during tourmanent play there are not
enough
chairs or bench space for all non-playing team members to be seated.
R2 should attempt to see that there are enought seats. If that is not
a viable option, those player who do not have a place to sit on the
bench need to remain standong at the end of the bench. Sitting on the
floor in what is a playable area is a safety concern.
|
|
12.
After team R's second contact, the ball is headed toward their
team bench.
Player #6 runs to the bench and reaches over the top of the bench
to save the ball. With one foot still on the playing surface #6
passes the ball toward the top of the net between the antennaes
and then falls into the bench, landing completely in a non-playable
area. As the ball enters the plane of the net, player #2 from team
S attacks the ball and it flys out of bounds and strikes player
#6 who is still on the floor behind the bench area.
Answer. Since player #6
from team R had a foot on the playing surface when the ball was played
that contact is legal. What the player does after the contact does not
effect
whether
or not the play was legal. The attack by player #2 from team S is also
legal since the ball is in the plane of the net. However when the ball
contacts # 6, she is deemed to have made a play on the ball.
In doing so she must have a body part on the playoing surface to make the
contact legal. She does not. Thus the ball out of bounds off of #6. Point
and serve awarded to team S.
|
|
11. The
coach for team A submits her line up for the 3rd set of the match
and lists
player #12 in service order
6 where she has played for the first 2 sets. The coach meant to list
# 2 in service order 6 because #12 had to leave the match site. So when
the teams took the court, the coach told # 2 to occupy that position.
Prior to the start of the set, R2 checks the line ups of both teams but
does not catch the fact that #2 is on the court where #12, who is listed
on the score sheet should be. The set starts and proceeds until team
A's #2 rotates from right front to the service position. When #2 serves
the ball, the scorer identifies a wrong server and notifies R2.
You really blew it this time but how do you handle this situation?
Answer... Yes, you really
did fail in your responsibility to actualy CHECK the line up.The lineup
check is done as a courtesy and the team is ultimately responsible
for their service order and positions on the court. The correct call
would be a rotation fault and a point awarded to the receiving team
when the serve is contacted.
|
|
10.
During the first 2 sets of the current match, player #1 was the
Team S
libero. Upon checking the line-up for
team S at the start of third set, R2 notices that player #8 is wearing
a libero jersey and is prepared to enter. The Team S coach listed #1
as the libero, on the lineup sheet. When the referees informed the
coach that player #1 must be the libero, the coach indicated player
#1 was injured. The R2 sees player #1 seated on the bench with no apparent
injuries.
How do you handle this situation?
Answer...
It is not the officials responsibilty to determine whether or not player
#1 is actually injured and if the Libero is injured and
cannot play she must first be
replaced by
the
player
who
she replaced
and then
the
coach
may
redesignate
a new Libero (Rule 10.4.3.a). Since the Libero has not yet been on the
court, the coach is completely within the rules to redesignate a new
Libero. So you authorize
the new Libero and note on the score sheet an exceptional substitution,
# 8 for #1(not one of the teams 18 allowed subs). Player #1 may not play
in this current set. |
|
9. A
fan arrives and sits on the first row of bleachers. After a few
minutes
she gets up and leaves first
her walker and second a baby chair. What should you do?
Answer...Although
fans are allowed to sit in that area if permitted by event management,
it is because they can move and react to players that come into the
area. They would not be allowed to sit or lie on the floor in any
playable area as they then cannot react and get out of the way. Devices
such
as
bags, purses, wheelchairs, walkers and the like also need to not
be in a playable area. They again cannot move themselves. We need to
not
allow
wheel chairs and walkers in a playable area even if they are being
attended to, as again they cannot get out of the way of a player.
The area where
those devices are allowed has to be a non-playable area and needs
to be a well defined area that can be pointed out during the captain’s
meeting. This task is the responsibility of event management and
needs to be attended to prior to the match. It is also something that
the
event management needs to monitor during the match. It is not a responsibility
of the officials to control where wheelchairs and the like are allowed
to go during the match. |
|
8.
Player #4 from team A enters the sub zone and you authorize a substitution
#4 for #10. Team
B also requests a substitution #2 for #7 and you authorize that sub
as well. As you turn back to the court you see that player #15 from
team A is standing in the sub zone waiting to sub in for #23
Answer..
Had #15 been waiting to be subbed into the match after you authorized
#4 into the match you should have authorized that sub as well before
turning to team B's substitution. Since #15 was not there, this is
a second request for substitution during the same dead ball and thus
not allowed. It is a team delay warning and the sub is denied. When
a team is going to make multiple substitutions all subs need to be
at or headed to the substitution zone so the R2 realizes that multiple
subs are requested. |
|
7. The
coach from the visiting team asks you to have the fans on the first
row of bleachers move up so that
their feet are not interfering with play by being in a playable area.
What should you do?
Answer..
The rules do not give us the authority or require that we do anything.
The rules do state that there must be at least 6 feet of playable area
around the court. If there is not then you may have to have a replay
on balls that would have been playable had there been 6 feet. In this
case we would do the same. If a fan interferes with a player's legitimate
effort to play a ball you should direct a replay. You really have no
authority to ask the fans to move from their seats. Only if a conference
has policy that restricts where fans can sit, should we do anything.
(Please note that ruling came from the state MHSAA office.) |
|
6. Upon
checking the line-ups prior to the start of set 1, R2 notices that
the coach has listed player #4 as both the middle
back and the Libero for that set.
How do you handle this situation?
Answer...Inform
the coach that #4 must start in the middle back position. Furthermore
due to the inacurate line-up and since the time interval has past to
submit or change the lineup, the team may not use a Libero for that
set and their opponents are awarded a point to start the set. (Case
book 7.1.2)
This is a case where good preventative officiating would have avoided
a major incident. Check the line-ups when they are given to you or the
score crew to see that no players are listed twice, there is a floor
captain designated, there is a libero listed (if the team intends to
use one) and the coach has signed it. |
|
5. Player
S1 is awarded a re-serve and then serves 2 point. She is then replaced
by player S2. Player S2 does not like her toss
for serve and allows it to fall to the floor. Does S2 get a re-serve
or is it a loss of rally?
Answer...
S2 gets a re-serve. Each player is entitled to one re-serve during any
one team's term of service. Rule 8-1-6 |
|
4 Team
R's first pass is tight to the net and R5 a back row setter reaches
toward the top of the net in an attempt to block
a legal attack of the overpass by S3. The attack hits R5's hands but
her hands are not above the net at the time of contact. R6 chases down
the deflection and passes it to R5 who sets R1 who then attacks the
ball to the floor on team S's side of the court. What is the correct
call to make?
Answer.... Even though R5 is back row her attempt to block
the overpass attack is not considered a block as her hands are below
the top of the net. Thus it becomes team R's first contact. The ensuing
contacts by R6, R5 and R1 make it 4 team contacts and thus a point should
be awarded to team S. |
|
3. Player
#12 of team S is awarded a re-serve. The coach for team S requests
an is given a time-out. Correct
or Incorrect?
Answer ..... Incorrect.
A re-serve is considered
a part of a single attempt to serve. Therefore no requests for game
interuptions
can be recognizes. Legal substitutions, replacements and timeouts may
take place during the dead ball prior to a replay, which is different
than a re-serve. |
|
2.
In the current set, Team A's libero has served in position six
for
player #14. Later in the
same set, Team A's libero enters the court from the bench and prepares
to serve for #15 in position three. Since the libero may not serve
in a second position in the same set, what action should the officials
take?
Answer ..... Since the
libero entered from bench, the replacement is not illegal until service
contact occurs. The referees and scorer should wait until the contact of
the serve before whistling the rotation fault. |
|
1.
The Libero for team R is in position 5. Team R wins the rally and
rotates.
However the Libero does not leave
the court and the officiating crew does not catch the rotational error
until after team R has lost the serve. Now team R makes the Libero
exchange. Normally team R has the Libero serve on this exchange so
the Libero goes immediately to position 1. At this point, how should
the officiating crew handle this situation? (Granted they should have
caught the rotational error when the Libero rotated to the front row.)
Answer .....
In this scenario, the libero would have to exit the court for 1 rally.
The attempt to move directly
to position
1 would constitute an impropper Libero exchange and thus a team delay.
Hopefully an astute referee and/or libero tracker will catch the
libero in the front row prior to service. |
|
 |