Softball You Make The Call

R2 is on second and R1 on first with no outs when B3 hits a pop up in the infield that a fielder can catch with ordinary effort. However, as F3 moves toward the ball she stumbles and the untouched ball falls safely to the ground. The ball then bounces and strikes R1 before it passes an infielder.
a. The umpires will invoke the infield fly rule.
b. B3 is out.
c. The ball is live and in play.
d. The ball is delayed-dead.
e. The ball is immediately dead.
f. R1 is out.
g. The runner closest to home is out.

Answer.. a, b, e, f (ASA 1-Infield fly, 8-7K Effect; NFHS 2-30, 8-6-11; NCAA 11.17, 12.4.3; USSSA FP 3-Infield Fly, 8.18N; USSSA SP 3-Infield Fly, 8-5C)

B1 hits a ground ball to F6. The throw to F3 is low and F3 stops the ball with the palm of her glove facing the ground just before B1 touches 1st base.


a) B1 is considered safe. The play is a trapped ball unless the fielder raises the glove to demonstrate control of the ball before B1 touches the base.
b) B1 is ruled out if F3 demonstrates control by turning her glove upward with the ball inside even if she shows control after B1 has passed 1st base.
c) The base umpire is obligated to get the opinion of the plate umpire before rendering a decision

Answer.. b) B1 is ruled out if F3 demonstrates control by turning her glove upward with the ball inside even if she shows control after B1 has passed 1st base.

Rule 2-9.5F. Also in case book
2-9 sit.c.